Got Questions? Call us! 02081919122

headerBG-1
  /  News   /  A Day in the Life of Sam and Beti
mum-and-bety

A Day in the Life of Sam and Beti

 Hi Beti, tell everyone a bit about yourself

My name is Bethel Samson and I am 11 years old, I am currently in the eighth year(Yr7 or at least moving to year 7) year at school, and I enjoy and benefit from the many subjects that I am taught. For instance, I thoroughly appreciate that we are given Art and DT lessons as many schools are not given this opportunity. Additionally, I have a range of hobbies, like painting and playing hockey.

What do you enjoy doing with your mum the most?

I like socialising with my mum(Sam) at our local coffee shop or our favourite restaurant, as I enjoy having conversations with her, rather than doing practical activities because I always discover something new about her or just have a great time. We both share a

What things do you like about your mum’s work with MamaSia?

I admire that my Mum enjoys her work but also that her job is interesting and complicated.

What do you like about MamaSia?

I love that MamaSia helps women in business and has organic products. I look up to the bold and intelligent women that lead MamaSia. I am happy that my Mum has the opportunity to be her own boss and is a creative, sometimes I can’t believe she designed the MamaSia website!

Would you consider working at MamaSia when your older?

When I am older, I am sure I will work at MamaSia as I love the way they work and how they make creating a business seem so easy and fun

 


Sam please tell everyone in our community about how your time is spent in a day?

Regularly, I get up at 7am. I get up and do my chores I take some time to pray. After that I feel I am on a good footing to start the day.

My son is up by this time, so I make sure he has his breakfast, brushes his teeth and make sure he has all his books ready for school.

The same goes for my daughter who normally gets up half an hour later than my son. Once they are out of the house, I get myself ready, eat my breakfast, and take a shower and dress for the day.

Depending on weather I work from home or in the office, I dress accordingly. My work normally begins at 9am, which starts by checking my emails, checking Slack and reviewing my Google calendar to determine what needs to be prioritised.

How do you juggle home-schooling and running a business?

It really is a balancing act. Being mumpreneur has its challenges but being organised is key in our household.

I had to learn this the hard way!  I naturally have the tendency to overwork. I realised that my family suffered in turn, as I started to neglect their needs. Thankfully, my husband is very supportive of me and goes the extra mile to look after the kids when I am working late. I love what I do at MamaSia and work does not feel like a chore, especially now that I have a balance between work and family life.I’m proud to say that whilst running a business, I managed to also focus on my children’s studies for the 11 plus exams, which both have passed and they have both got into top Schools. At times it was very hard to juggle the two things, but it has paid off.

Although I don’t home-school in normal circumstances, this is now my current situation, as schools have shut their doors due to the Coronavirus outbreak. My husband and I, like many other working parents, have found ourselves home-schooling the children. It adds another layer to the already tight schedule i.e. getting lessons ready, setting up the learning environment for online lessons etc can be challenging at times, as we have had to adapt to a new way of working.

The other day, for instance, my son had a drama class, so we had to write the script, edit and film the performance.  Even though I was out of my comfort zone, it was an interesting process and allowed us to bond too, I must admit.

In his IT lesson he had to design a website, and code in HTML. Luckily as I am proficient in website development, I had the skills to help him.

I love spending time with my children and being quarantined has given us a chance to spend quality time together. I am very proud of them. They have shown me true strength in this time especially as they have taken these unexpected circumstances in their stride.

We have been doing more activities together from baking more to going out for walks and occasionally I have even tried playing basketball with them.

What do you enjoy the most about your job?

I love the fact that I am my own boss. I decide how things are planned out. I wear many hats and I get to be creative. I enjoy putting a smile on our customer’s faces, as they get the results they desire by using our products. Being the Co-founder of MamaSia I have seen the company evolve from being an idea to serving customers all around the world.

Every day I wake up knowing my contribution has an impact not only on our customers, but also on our family and community here in the UK and back in Africa. The women behind MamaSia are a great inspiration to me, they are humble, hardworking and knowledgeable about the Shea Butter and the natural resources they process.

I also get the opportunity to work with my mum in Senegal where I can give back to the strong woman who raised me. This gives me great pleasure in knowing that this is truly a family business where we can help each other, whilst helping others around the world.

What is the most challenging part of running a business as a mother and how do you overcome these challenges?

I believe that the most challenging part is that there isn’t enough time in the day to do everything that I wish I could do.

Running a business as well as running a home takes time and has it has challenges, like I said before it is a balancing act. You have to prioritise wisely and work smartly.

What is a fun fact about you?

Before MamaSia I was in the music business as a teen in the 90’s, I was signed to Sony music and had the opportunity to tour most of the world.

I was 15 at the time and got a lot of attention especially as I was living in a small town in Sweden.

Another interesting fact about me is that I have a twin sister and we got married on the same day. People do ask if our husbands can tell us apart, lol!

What are your hobbies?

I still have a passion for music, however I would say my favourite genre is Gospel nowadays, I also enjoy travelling, reading books about business and painting with my daughter.

Post a Comment